how many background checks are required?

termite289

Expert Expediter
First off, let me say that i do not have a group of hula dancers in grass skirts, and a few hundred rolls of duck tape in the bunk, and side box. I am not the evil genius mastermind intent on taking over the world. I am a truck driver. that is it, plain and simple.
With that being said, how many more background checks are they going to come up with that we have to pay roughly another $100 for? So far i have completed fast, and passport, and government clearance, for fed-ex which i no longer use.. and i have pending the twick and hazmat, which im not sure i want to pay for. yet i see a whole plethora of new and exiting opportunity for more. the salmonella scare with the peanuts. sars, bird flue, and just to make any particular congressman or woman look like they are protecting the public, from the evil truckers.
Now im not saying that a background check isn't a good idea for people hauling sensitive material, but do we have to have a whole list of them. I thought federal agencies were supposed to share information. cut down on paperwork and all that. it seems to me that the department of transportation is a bit nuts on this one. lets find one that will cover airports, ship ports, and haz-mat, and anything else they will decide that the country needs a few extra hundred million dollars for, and get it all done at one time. besides all the extra cards we have to carry are getting hard to keep up with.
what do you think???

pelicn

Veteran Expediter
Especially when they are all looking at the SAME databases when they do a background check.
:mad:

termite289

Expert Expediter
lets not all disagree at once.
however i have been told that you get a discount on twick, if you have hazmat.

JohnMueller

Staff member
Motor Carrier Executive
Safety & Compliance
Carrier Management
Termite;