Weight vs Comfort

paullud

Veteran Expediter
In setting up my cargo van I got part way through and weighed the van and noticed that I am getting close to having a 2000lb payload capacity. Is this enough or if I add more and it drops it down to only being able to carry 1500lbs is that a big mistake?

OntarioVanMan

Retired Expediter
Owner/Operator
In setting up my cargo van I got part way through and weighed the van and noticed that I am getting close to having a 2000lb payload capacity. Is this enough or if I add more and it drops it down to only being able to carry 1500lbs is that a big mistake?
Always keep in mind...the more limitations you subject yourself to the more your income will shrink....

paullud

Veteran Expediter
I used to be a truck driver and 500lbs meant little before but when you have a much lower GVWR it is a much bigger percentage of what you can carry and can cause problems. I am sure the 500lb difference could cost some loads but I wasn't sure if the majority of loads are between 1500-2000lbs or are under.

OntarioVanMan

Retired Expediter
Owner/Operator
I used to be a truck driver and 500lbs meant little before but when you have a much lower GVWR it is a much bigger percentage of what you can carry and can cause problems. I am sure the 500lb difference could cost some loads but I wasn't sure if the majority of loads are between 1500-2000lbs or are under.
Depends on the dispatch type of your carrier...some think bigger is better and some seem to acquire some smaller loads....you could try it...if ya feel like you are losing out you could trim down the baggage a little....some carriers won't sign you on with less then 2,000 lbs....and there is a reason for that.....dispatch expends extra time trying to get you loaded..after awhile they just don't try so hard...

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
In setting up my cargo van I got part way through and weighed the van and noticed that I am getting close to having a 2000lb payload capacity.