Van - better more volume or more weight capacity?

bentleytech1

Seasoned Expediter
In the continuing saga of my adventure, I'm wondering if it is better to have more weight capacity or more volume capacity? Which gets used most often? Yes I know...with a Sprinter I could have both, but a Sprinter just doesn't fit into the start-up budget.
I have opportunity for E350 extended or E350 with cube box. If I could find a Unicel, that probably would be best but.... I know the cube will get less mileage, but will it run more often because of the volume capacity?
Yes I also know depends on the company you're leased to, but I'd sure be interested in the experience of the guys running vans.
Thanks.

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Yes I also know depends on the company you're leased to,

I'm just a dumb ole truck driver and I didn't spend last night at a Holiday Inn Express either but I believe that is by far the most significant factor. My take, the more professional the carrier the more volume will help and the less structured the carrier the more weight capacity will help.

bentleytech1

Seasoned Expediter
Thanks LDB for the post. My thoughts are the weight differences aren't really that much, and the more flexible the vehicle, the more runs it can get. Fuel mileage will be sacrificed, but that only comes into play when you AREN'T SITTING.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
Seems a no brainer to me: weight will add stress to the suspension, transmission, etc, while volume [larger objects] that isn't heavy won't.

bentleytech1

Seasoned Expediter
Cheri, thanks for the post. And I agree with you about the stresses. what the real question was will the cube van get better chances to run more trips becuase it has more volume, and is more flexible in what it can take??

DannyD

Veteran Expediter
We're sort of in the same boat here. Although I'm w/ a company I'm looking at getting a bigger vehicle than my 250.