Do Dispatchers Lie?

letzrockexpress

Veteran Expediter
I have been in this business for aproximately 5 years all together, most of them with one carrier. Throughout this time I would say I have had a fairly good relationship, in general, with dispatch personel at all 3 carriers I have worked with. Having said that, I like to think I have a pretty good BS detector. (I should, I was a siding salesman for almost 20 years.) This meter has remained mostly inactive over these past years, somewhat like a smoke detector, hanging on the wall, waiting to squawk into action should a germane situation arise. Lately, or at least a couple times lately, the needle of this sensitive instrument has jerked violently to right, sometimes even into the red zone while I'm involved in communication with members of the dispatch community. I'm not sure what to make of this development. Are any of you having a similar experience?

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner
Probably would depend on what carrier you are talking about.

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I don't think that we have been lied to very often, if at all. We are often not always told EVERYTHING, maybe a lie by omission. Often the dispatchers do not always have all the info when they speak to us either. We also always keep in mind that they do not work for us or our benefit, they are employees of our carrier and responsible for their employeers needs, not ours.

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Never, I know this to be true because I used to be a dispatcher.

Darmstadter

Veteran Expediter
Never, I know this to be true because I used to be a dispatcher.

I was a dispatcher for a while too. We were paid by the hour and no bonus - didn't need to lie. If the dispatchers are getting a bonus based on what they cover; that's when I would look for the lies of omission and flatout lies to start flying.:(

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter