Naming Bad Fleet Owners

ATeam

Retired Expediter
Complaints are common here in the Open Forum about fleet owners that harmed drivers by failing to maintain equipment, holding back pay, improperly keeping escrow money, violating contract provisions, etc. Yet no one ever names a fleet owner publicly to warn off other potential victims. The disgruntled drivers seem to hold back the names for legal reasons of one sort or another.

It may also happen that if a fleet owner is named, the Open Forum moderators step in to delete the post, also for legal reasons of one sort or another. Not being a moderator myself, I can't say for sure what goes on since I am not privy to the insider discussions about such things.

I simply want to point out that it is not illegal to name a fleet owner in public and tell the truth about him or her. It is illegal to defame a person with statements that are untrue.

If I was a disgruntled driver who had been screwed over by a fleet owner, I would be very careful to tell the truth, but I would also feel free to name the evil doer in public. If someone did this, I wonder what the moderator response would be?

For purposes of discussion, assume that all facts are true in the hypothetical post I present below. My question is, would such a post be allowed to stand in the Open Forum?

HYPOTHETICAL POST

I am posting this information about my experience with a fleet to warn others about his business practices, and in hopes that this post will prompt him to resolve to my satisfaction a money dispute I have with him. If the dispute is resolved, I will post that information here.

His name is Joe Fleetowner. He has seven straight trucks leased to Carrier Name. I contracted with him to drive one of those trucks on July 6, 2010. The contract he and I both signed states that (quote exact pay within seven days provision language here).