Van or Sprinter

chefdennis

Veteran Expediter
Ok, I'll be at the expo on fri, probabaly not sat, but will be simply going to talk face to face with recuriters, nothing more.

So here is my story,I have been reading here for over a yr. I certainly do NOT know everythung about this business, but what you might call "eniugh to hang myself I am a 55 y/ retired male, owns 3 businesses 2 as and absentee owner, 1 I work as a specialty chef when i feel like it, mostly fri or sat evenings and that can easily be left to one if my boys to deal with when I am not home. Retirement plan is not a concern as it is in place now. Health and medical insurance is already in place and has been for over 6 yrs (I pay it myself). Wife is also self employed. This business would only be required to pay for itself and pay me a wage, nothing big but a few grand gross over expenses.

I will use my money for up front / started up but the business has to make money from day one. I undrstand that this business does not make money everyday and there is "downtime waiting for loads, other than that, I know nothing about the expediting business other then what I have read here over the last yr.

Now my temperment and personality would not allow me to work for someone else and drive their equipment (my mom once said,"there was no woman in her right mind that would put up with me for very long so I needed to know how to take care of myself", that is also true with an employer, hence being self employed for more years then i care to think about) , so I will be buying a used vehicle to decide if i really enjoy this. Time away from home isn't a giant deal, but being home 4-6 days a month would be nice. Being out 3 weeks at a time isn't an issue.