watch your public life

Jack_Berry

Moderator Emeritus
got this today from a friend. found me and several of us on this site.

There's a site called spokeo.com that's a new online USA phone book w/personal information: everything from pics you've posted on FB or web, your approx credit score, home value, income, age, family member's names.
You can remove yourself by searching your name, find your page, copy the URL then go to the bottom right of the page & click on the Privacy link to remove yourself, although I didn't find that information displayed on theit website.

Brisco

Expert Expediter
Wasn't this brought up a couple of weeks ago in another thread?

I've been there and saw some of my info. Nothing I've ever done online before though. Had my cell phone # listed, which I've had going on 10 years now, but wasn't surprised when I saw it cause I've been using it as my personal number for many years now.

I too have tried to have my info removed with no success. At least not yet I haven't had any luck. I'm not one to give up though.

Last edited:

redytrk

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
You can have info removed, but the first inquiry triggers a new web search. And boom, there is all your info again.

Posted with my Droid EO Forum App

Pirate2X

Active Expediter
Had no problem removing, or so the email and clickie link says...

One would think this would be illegal, privacy act or something?:mad:

~Bill

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Had no problem removing, or so the email and clickie link says...

One would think this would be illegal, privacy act or something?:mad:

~Bill
Its all already public information, likely all of it information you have posted yourself. All of that information is simply aggregated much the same way Google aggregates news feeds. In order to remove the information that shows up, you have to remove it from the source, not from the aggregator.

ts675

Seasoned Expediter