Sprinter vs Cargo van?

TRoss1776

Active Expediter
I'm getting ready to purchase my first van this spring. I have over 4 yrs experience in expediting...mostly straight trucks...with the last year being in a Sprinter. I do love the Sprinter, but another driver told me about the Terramaxx. I would like to hear opinions about the two from drivers with more experience in sprinters and cargo fans.

Sent from my DROID BIONIC using EO Forums mobile app

TRoss1776

Active Expediter
If I go with a van, if like it to be able to hold 3 skids with a load capacity of around 3500. Also being a high top is a priority. My van will basically be my home so I want room. I talked to Tom Meeks at Max automotive and they meet my requirements. Van with features I choose at approx $46,000. My hesitation is that I have yet to meet or talk to anyone who has the Terramaxx. I just started my purchase plan, so I have limited info as of yet.

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
3500 hundred lbs takes you beyond a sprinter. People do it but not a good move. Make sure you stay under 10001 gvw.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I717 using EO Forums mobile app

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Finding a van with 3500 pounds cargo capacity that's also under 10k gvw will be difficult I suspect, especially after it's outfitted for life on the road.

bobwg

Expert Expediter
If I go with a van, if like it to be able to hold 3 skids with a load capacity of around 3500. Also being a high top is a priority. My van will basically be my home so I want room. I talked to Tom Meeks at Max automotive and they meet my requirements. Van with features I choose at approx $46,000. My hesitation is that I have yet to meet or talk to anyone who has the Terramaxx. I just started my purchase plan, so I have limited info as of yet.

If u get terra max u need log books

blizzard2014

Veteran Expediter
Driver