Sprinter Business

jade114

Active Expediter
Hi all, I'm new to this forum. Read a lot of posts about many things. Great info! I have a few questions about starting a sprinter business.

To make this short. I work in the cargo business currently at O'Hare in Chicago. I would like to either buy a sprinter van and start my own business, or work for somebody. I do not have experience driving.

What are the pros and cons of owning vs. driving for someone? I hear more money for the person who owns their own van. I was looking into Bolt Express, or Try Hours and a few other companies.

Weekly I would like to bring in $700 which is enough for me and my family. I do not mind being out on the road.

Any advice is appreciated. Thanks!

Monty

Expert Expediter
The person that owns the van makes more money, but they also have more expenses. Depending on your situation, it may actually loose money for you.

"Pride in Ownership" is sometimes Bah Humbug!

greg334

Veteran Expediter
Don't need to answer this but how much money do you make right now?

Is it near what you think you want to make?

If it is, stay where you are.

The problem with vans is that some do really really well and make that number before taxes while others struggle to make half of that.

Monty

Expert Expediter
Would you be happy with $1400.00 this week, and zero next?

Or ... $4500 this week and $250.00 for the next four weeks?

This business is "feast or famine" .... the only way you can figure your income is quarterly. While you may have good weeks, and bad ... it should average to more than that. But you are NOT guarenteed each week you will make your stated goal.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
You'll need to be out on the road 2-3 weeks at a time minimum, or you won't make any money. 2-3 Months is better. You have a family?

Expediting, as viewed from behind the wheel, is very, very different than expediting, as viewed from atop a freight dock.

jade114

Active Expediter