Question on yearly net income.

Mars22

Active Expediter
I am a newb looking to get a van, read a ton of forum posts, did a bunch of searching, and I havent come across more than one or two people saying what their yearly net was as an O/O with a CV. I have seen a few posts that have total miles and figure out a base gross pay based on gas mileage and CPM and they were in the $50K+ range after gas. I know insurance and other things take a toll but thats a hell of a lot more than I make now.

I know its a personal subject but this is business, what do you net a year after all expenses and taxes?

I want to know if its financially worth the trouble of living in a van for a few years. I dont have kids and have always wanted to travel around for a bit.

PS. sorry if this has been covered but I did a a lot of searching and came up empty.

Last edited:

ChrisGa23

Expert Expediter
When I drove the best I made was almost $26,000 a year but I did not own my own van. I would say $50,000 is doable as long as you stay available as much as possible, keep the van maintained, and know what loads are profitable and those that are not. The fuel surcharge will almost pay for the fuel itself and on a few loads a week you may make a few pennies a mile profit off of it. But in my opinion to be profitable you need to know the business and I assume you are new to the business. Might I suggest and many others will suggest that you drive for a fleet owner for 6 months or more and learn the basic ropes. That way you can save more for your van and learn and make mistakes without it costing you an arm and leg and possibly running your business in the ground.

Good Luck !

paullud

Veteran Expediter
In a van I would say to expect $20-25k, if things go OK and you stay out. You might do a little better if things really start moving but things seem to be slowing down.

Posted with my Droid EO Forum App

Mars22

Active Expediter