Is Expediting a Business or a Lifestyle?

Is Expediting a Business or a Lifestyle

• Business

Votes: 5 55.6%
  • Lifestyle

Votes: 4 44.4%

• Total voters

Solar

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
In roofing, you must have equipment and knowledge, and these things come through experience, time, and common sense.

Still, as a former roofer, I know what the #1 requirement is to be a roofer. You can not be afraid of heights.

Likewise, I've been investigating OTR Expediting, and from what I have gathered, the #1 requirement is to be able to live in the vehicle for long periods of time and stay in the seat, keeping the wheels turning. The ability to live on the job. Make it into a Lifestyle.

Others have disagreed with me, believing knowing not to throw yourself unmercifully in debt is. So, instead of continually being off subject on another thread, I dedicate this one to this very subject.

I just personally believe you can not make it without accepting that this isn't a "job", like you flip some burgers, then you go home, but this is your life, you are 24/7 in it. It exceeds a mere business or job, this is now your life.

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
If you are a long distance expediter who spends weeks at a time on the road I would agree it's a lifestyle that adapting to helps a person succeed.

I think when some hear the word lifestyle they picture someone who wants to deliver a couple loads and take time off to explore or such. Imho the confusion and comments come more from ones interpretation of the word than anything else.

Reactions: Solar and Grizzly

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter