Am I A Trucker

dhalltoyo

Veteran Expediter
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)
truck·er [truhk-er]–noun
1. a person who drives a truck; truckdriver.
2. a person whose business is trucking goods.
[Origin: 1875–80; truck1 + -er1]
Dictionary.com Unabridged (v 1.1)
Based on the Random House Unabridged Dictionary, © Random House, Inc. 2006.

I happened to post on another forum and one of the members of that forum also happens to post here on EO too.

On the other forum he said, "I wouldn't call Mr. Hall a trucker. I think he drives a small van for FedEx."

According to the dictionary I am a trucker.

What say the EO members?

Of course, as terse as the comments were on the other forum maybe I should consider myself an operator.

1. a person who operates a machine, apparatus, or the like.
2. a person who manages a working or industrial establishment, enterprise, or system.

Maybe truckers just drive.

I was an Operating Engineer and I met many who could drive a piece of heavy equipment, but they couldn't operate it to produce the desired results.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
Do you accept others' perceptions & definitions of who you are as more reliable than your own?

dhalltoyo

Veteran Expediter
Of course not.

Just curious as to how someone could have the preception that anyone engaged in the delivery of goods is some how excluded from the industry based upon the type of vehicle they drive.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
If someone dismisses you from consideration, based upon the size of your vehicle, it says more about their preconceived notions & ignorance, than your classification, IMO. Perhaps they don't know that you deal with carriers, shippers, consignees, truckstops, and all the other aspects of life on the road, same as those who drive bigger trucks. In which case, it's their ignorance that's being shown, not your inadequacy as a "truck driver", no?

Packmule

Expert Expediter
I am the CEO of my own company in the transportation industry.