Balancing Home and The Road

PreacherRich

Seasoned Expediter
Hey All,

Here is a question I have been beating myself up trying to figure out. I have a pretty little blond at home that drives my desire to get the most possible miles in and be a good provider. The same pretty little blond also hates me being away from home. I get grief if I am not making money and grief if I am not home.

I know that I am not the only one who has ran up against this one. I am looking for responces from drivers that have overcame and have a great marriage.

I am new at this and the money is just starting to come in. (that may help) She is also a very hard worker and may get laid off this winter for a few month and we may go out as a team and show her what I do. (that may help) I have tried to explain that there is not much difference with my actual time at home if I were working a 60 hour job at home. But about 6 to 10 days out the stress begins. I have been praying through this and it is a struggle.

So, if you have any solid advice for a newer expediter, it sure would be appreciated

paullud

Veteran Expediter
Have you tried being a real jerk when you are home so she wants you gone? I'll ask my wife to chime in with some advice for you and your wife as to how she dealt with it.

Posted with my Droid EO Forum App

chefdennis

Veteran Expediter
Each "Family" handles this situation differently...me and my wife are happy with me being out for however long i am..be it 3 days or 30..it is what it is...but we have been together and married over dang near 30 years to...

All i can say is if you do NOT have her support at home....you have a few decisions to make...it could end ugly...

sassy_1210

Seasoned Expediter
When Paul first started driving truck it would be almost two months before I saw him sometimes.
The best thing that worked for me was keeping busy and he would call a few times a day.
If you have any other questions feel free to ask. :)

MissKat

Expert Expediter