nextel phones...........

randy123

Expert Expediter
RANDYhi all, i just got my new nextel phones last week..........
i was in auburn ind and my phone did not work, did not work till i got 60 miles from home, i have nationwide direct connect and walkie talkie, i am new to cell phones and this one sucks. one of the other drivers has a nextel and he can talk all over at anytime... i call nextel and thay tell me that in some places thay have no service, well i have tried this thing in three states and it does not work till i get close to home....it will say no service on the phone.
anybody else got this problem... or can you tell me what phone works all over the states thanks randy

highway star

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I've been with Nextel for over 6 years. I can tell you that coverage has vastly improved. The intersates are covered well and Auburn should be O.K. I would call them and have them make sure your phone has been properly activated. I had a problem with that when I first got my phone. If that does'nt help, tell them you want to try a different phone. Maybe you got a bad one.

geo

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Navy
i have nextel with egl and if i go into nc and a few other places it doesn't work there getting better sometime in next few months when sprint and nextel firgure how to make there system work side by side it will be great, but it waitting for this to happen, i have friends that have nextel in other area's nice just to click and talk

randy123

Expert Expediter
RANDY

I HAD THEM SEND 2 PHONES AND WILL TRY THE OTHER ONE WHEN I GO OUT AGAIN.... IT MIGHT BE THE PHONE. I JUST HATED NOT GETTING MY CALL WHILE ON THE ROAD....RANDY

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard