Looking for info on FedExCC Owner-Operators

gordoncooper

Seasoned Expediter
I am new to this arena. I have been hauling for fedex these past few months after a 30 year stint with the army. I have white glove with the radioactive&explosive approvals. I would like to hear about going to owning a rig instead of working as a contractor for the company I now drive for. For the first month I was in a 53' rig hauling from CA to Alaska. But for the past two months I have been in a D unit hauling to all lower 48. Please let me know of your thoughts, Gordon

Doggie Daddy

Veteran Expediter
I am new to this arena. I have been hauling for fedex these past few months after a 30 year stint with the army. I have white glove with the radioactive&explosive approvals. I would like to hear about going to owning a rig instead of working as a contractor for the company I now drive for. For the first month I was in a 53' rig hauling from CA to Alaska. But for the past two months I have been in a D unit hauling to all lower 48. Please let me know of your thoughts, Gordon

I hate to be the one to tell you gordon,but the chances of you getting your own rig and still being in w/g are slim to none with it likely being none.

There is a waiting list to put trucks on with w/g, and the wait could be years to get into it. And it doesn't matter one bit what amount of training or clearances or experience that you have.

And owning your own truck doesn't get you away from being a contractor,as all owner operators are contracted to FECC.

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Stick with driving for a owner for the time being. IF things improve over the next year or two then I would look into it. It you are not happy with the owner you have look into others. While your current owner might be just fine not every owner is a "fit" for every driver. Shop around.

Humble2drive

Expert Expediter
. . . Please let me know of your thoughts, Gordon

1st thought: Welcome to EO