Ford cargo van 2500 extended vs short base

Sprintit

Active Expediter
Hi everybody
I am a newbie with yet another cargo van ! Could anybody point out the disadvantage of a short base over the extended cargo van. Do carriers only look for extended van only if they are taking any van now.

paullud

Veteran Expediter
An extended van makes your living arrangements more comfortable and gives you more freight possibilities.

Sent from my ADR6400L using EO Forums mobile app

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Also, both the regular length body and the extended body come on a 138" wheelbase.

Opel2010

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Extended is better... it means more room for your personal things, as well as for freight... also, if you wanna sign with a large carrier, don't buy a van older than four years...

Sent from my SGH-T999 using EO Forums mobile app

guido4475

Not a Member
Why limit yourself to a cargo van that will only haul 2 skids? Why a E250? And the lack of creature comforts as well. Why not get a Spartan body Ford e-350 van? 12 ft body, single rear wheel, stand up, walk around, 3 skid capacity is the best bet without buying a Sprinter. Or even consider buying a Cargo Max.Expect 12-14 MPG out of one, but I'll take the more gas usage over being cramped any day...plus, it has given me more load options.GVW on these are 9,600 on the older ones, and the new ones are being ordered with the 9,900 GVW package, single rear wheel. They actually are a cutaway motorhome chassis with a 12,300# GVW, but de-rated to 9,600 or 9,900 GVW...Please don't make the same mistake I did and buy a standard cargo van....You'll do so much better with a Spartan, or similar vehicle..

xmudman

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Guido, your response is 100% correct; but it sounds like the OP already has his van.