E250 or E350

jimare

Seasoned Expediter
Hi Guy's I was wondering is there much differenence between a 3/4 and a 1 ton in the amount of loads you can haul. It seem to me you can pick up the E250 a little easier.
Thanks Gizmo

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I'm new to vans, putting mine together now actually, so others will have more experience to speak from. The biggest difference I see is how easily you can achieve the 2500 pound company payload requirement while personally equipping the van to live in it. With a one ton van you can put all your stuff in it and carry the 2500 pound payload and still have margin to spare. The 3/4 ton will be maxed out and presumably wearing out faster. The one ton has heavier duty components too I think. I know the one ton has 8 lug wheels but not sure if the 3/4 ton is 8 lug or 5 lug and I'm sure some other components are heavier duty as well.

chefdennis

Veteran Expediter
The 1st thing to look at is the fact that there are 2 different e-250's and there are also 2 different 2500 chevys and gmc's...you buy a under 8600 lb gvw 3/4 ton and after you turn in a weight slip to your carrier, you won't be getting too many loads.....

Its all about the GVW rating of the chassis you buy..the higher the gvw, the heavier the freight you can haul . And that can be thousands of lbs different......

greg334

Veteran Expediter
Hi Guy's I was wondering is there much differenence between a 3/4 and a 1 ton in the amount of loads you can haul. It seem to me you can pick up the E250 a little easier.
Thanks Gizmo

Easier?

OK, but here is the thing, go for the biggest vehicle you can get.

If you can get a E350 extended body, do it.

If you can get a GMC 3500 on a 155" chassis, do it.

Take the time to get the vehicle, have it checked out and make sure you know how to change a tire or two because being stuck on the side of the road with no cell coverage at night on a rural road where rocky is the only one around just sucks.

Dakota