Delayed Payment?

wvcourier

Expert Expediter
Is there a time limit your carrier has to pay you? I thought it was DOT regulation to pay you 15 days after the carrier recieves original BOL. But one of my carriers is telling me that they are waiting for the customer to pay them, and then they will send me a check? Is this common practice..having to wait for Peter to pay Paul before I get paid? Its really putting me in a bind, because I am new to this, and most of my start up capital is gone?

Dont steal, the government hates competition. ~Ron Paul~

usafk9

Veteran Expediter
Not a DOT reg. It's a contract matter. If it were me, I'd be real hesitant to haul anything else for them. What happens if they never get paid? All the risk and costs are on you?

wvcourier

Expert Expediter
Im not hauling anything else for them until I get paid..i think its a little misleading of EO to advertise companies as five star carriers.

Rocketman

Veteran Expediter
Is there a time limit your carrier has to pay you? I thought it was DOT regulation to pay you 15 days after the carrier recieves original BOL. But one of my carriers is telling me that they are waiting for the customer to pay them, and then they will send me a check? Is this common practice..having to wait for Peter to pay Paul before I get paid? Its really putting me in a bind, because I am new to this, and most of my start up capital is gone?

Im thinkin your the guy who thought all the old timers were just saying stuff to discourage competition. Jump right on in there. You aint seen nothin yet :D

LisaLouHoo

Expert Expediter
Probably the best thing to do is stop hauling but don't stop calling.

Sent from my ADR6300 using EO Forums

wvcourier

Expert Expediter
sometimes the best research is actually doing something. But yeah I should have just signed with a larger carrier to start out with. But I think I did ok with Jung Express, they seem to know what they are doing. Cant say that about carrier b. though

lugnut1