Dear Recruiters of reputable companies

Dougriss

Rookie Expediter
I am new to the game when it comes to expediting. In fact, so new that I am looking for immediate employment. Alas, a few places that I have spoken with will not even try to qualify me because I have no experience with freight.

My deal is that I spent over 12 years on the roads as a touring musicians driving sprinters, 15-pass, cargo van and dock level trucks. I have driven almost every major interstate in this country. I lived and breathed the road (most times gone 4 to 6 months without seeing home). That is the lifestyle that I know.

I have spent the past few years going to college. I am not one to sit still in the same place. Truthfully, I only feel at home driving. Some people have said for me to just get my CDL, but I do not have the money for obtaining my CDL and I have heard horror stories about the CDL mills that train people to point 40 tons down the highway without a care of the driver's safety (nor the general public).

What I have to offer is a hard work ethic, 100% clean driving record, clear background, no drug use or alcohol abuse and a determination to make money for myself and the company that I drive for.

As I said, I have been told by a couple places that they would not qualify me because of the experience that I have not had with freight even with a clean MVR.

So who knows a legit company that has a need for safety driven, hard working, road warrior? And by legit, I mean a company that has a website with their company info on it.

Thanks for reading.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
For most carriers you don't even need a CDL for a Sprinter. But obtaining a Class C CDL with HAZMAT endorsement requires virtually no money (about $125 I think for the CDL and the HAZMAT endorsement, but it varies by state), and if you own your own Sprinter nearly every carrier will qualify you unless you have a criminal record or a bad MVR.