Company rules for driving hours...

rodeojunkie

Seasoned Expediter
OK, let me first start by saying i don not condone it, but the simple fact is a lot of drivers drive for more than the allowed hours per day and that leads me to my question. I have driven over the road (straight truck) and i was lucky enough to drive for a company that let me run as hard as i wanted. They had very few straight truck teams so about 80% of the runs i did were actually team runs. I have driven for a living for over 20 years so we can skip the whole "i know its illegal to take a 1200 mile run and do it straight through debate."
What i am wondering is this. I am considering going into a sprinter or cargo van and i would like to know which companies will actually let you run hard in a van. I have heard of some companies that will automatically give the run to a team if it is over 500 miles or so. I would like to get an idea before i get qualified by these companies. I don't want to travel all the way to orientation just to find out i will never get another long run. So chime in and let me know what your companies policy on longer runs is so hopefully i can save myself some time and go with a company better suited to my style of running. Thanks in advance for your input.:)

rodeojunkie

Seasoned Expediter
I have been doing that too Zoli but i was wondering if its going to be a problem with the major carriers. If they are going to limit my miles in a van i might as well keep driving a straight truck and benefit from the higher freight rate.

transporter

Expert Expediter