Cargo Van Exp Help please!

Stinky

Seasoned Expediter
I have been drving OTR for 7 years and I am just tired of the BS. I love the road, but all the other crap is getting stupid.

I have been considering cargo van expediting for a while. It seems like any other aspect of trucking. Some guys just don't succeed, but the smart ones do.

I would appreciate some straight info. What can you reasonably clear a year after expenses? I plan on paying cash for my van. How much home time do you get?

What are the best companies? Based on my research so far it seems Landstar and Panther are the two best. Any suggestions, comments?

Thanks for the help guys.

Stinky out!

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
Phew!

Cargo van expediting has been a great thing to do, in the past. It's still doable but there are too many vans competing for too little freight for anyone to forecast how well a newcomer would do. Where your home is plays a role in your financial success due to the high cost of deadhead fuel these days. Since your first question was related to income, you might see more disappointment before the joy of cargo vanning sets in.

Take the time to come visit us at the Expedte Expo July 25 - 26 at the Roberts Convention center, MM50 I-71, Wilmington, Ohio. A visit to the two day event will help you decide on a carrier, a vehicle and a tour of expedite duty.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
"It seems like any other aspect of trucking."

That's easily the biggest, and most common, mistake people coming into expediting make. The reality is, expediting is the least like any other aspect of trucking, particularly in a van. It's more like hunting from a duck blind than it is trucking. You have to be at the right place at the right time, but mostly you just sit and wait, admiring your high dollar gun.

dhalltoyo

Veteran Expediter
Ditto!

Don't pay cash for the van!