what are the average per mile rates for LandStar Express America?

HaulTow

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
What are the average rates after fuel and deadhead miles for O/O working for LandStars Express America? I have been hauling double rv trailers for the past 4 years and i averaged $1.34 per mile after deadhead miles. I assume i am "upgrading" my career but i want to make sure. I go to orientation next week, but again maybe I should build another RV hauler if the grass is not greener on the other side. Any advice would be really appreciated.

Last edited:

Treadmill

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Landstar Owner Operator Pay and Compensation not sure what the average pay rate is, fuel surcharge, and what percent the straight truck owner/operator makes
Each LEA agent is different with their pricing. Some high and some low. That will be your task to find out when running loads for each different agent. Fsc will be the same for all Landstar agents and will e same as the big truck side. Only difference will be is if that customer has a set rate for fsc then it will be usually at a %. Take many notes and ask slot of questions. THEY WILL NOT TELL YOU WHAT EACH AGENT PAYS PER MILE. THEY MAY TELL YOU WHAT THE CURRENT FSC IS. (Sorry for the all CAPS comment. It was aimed at explaining something rather than screaming at you.) Enjoy the ride. I did.

HaulTow

New Recruit
Owner/Operator
what is LEA and FSC stand for? althought i am new to landstar i have alittle experience booking my own loads with the rv hauling previous gig. can you give me any real word examples so i can compare? Outbound we would get $2.20 per mile and 300 miles of deadhead.... (that included fuel surcharge ect and they paid all permits and tolls). Inbound i averaged $.60-$1.20 per mile with also around 300 miles of deadhead..

redskunk

Expert Expediter
Fleet Owner
US Army
LEA stands for Landstar Express America. FSC stands for Fuel Surcharge.

Sent from my iPhone using EO Forums

Treadmill