Class B Question

Dennis Newstedt

New Recruit
Driver
Hi,

I'm looking to get my class B license. I studied for the general knowledge and air brake endorsement tests, and I passed it with no problem. Now I need to take the inspection and driving test, but my DMV isn't making it very clear how this is accomplished. I don't have a straight truck (obviously since I don't even have a license to drive one), so I thought the DMV would have one for me to use, but it doesn't seem like this is the case. How, exactly, does this work?

Ragman

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Sounds like a catch-22.

Do you know somebody with a truck. Such person can take you for the test.

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
One of the important attributes of a driver, particularly an expedite driver is problem solving. You have a resolvable problem that you don't seem to have thought too deeply for a solution. Have you considered renting a air brake equipped strait truck from a nearby Ryder or Penske. You don't need to have a CDL to rent a straight truck for non-commercial purposes. An ad in you local media might get you access to a straight truck. A visit to a truck stop with an offer of financial help to an idle driver might have your answer. With regards to a pre-trip inspection, there are dozens of you tube videos with pre-trip demonstrations. While you're at it, you might consider a hazmat endorsement on your CDL to improve your earning opportunities. Good luck with your search.

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
Hi,
I don't have a straight truck (obviously since I don't even have a license to drive one), so I thought the DMV would have one for me to use, but it doesn't seem like this is the case. How, exactly, does this work?
It works the same way it did when you obtained your regular driver's license. You supply the vehicle. If you don't know somebody with a truck, rent one for a few days to practice driving and doing a pre-trip.