Driver Cams?

Tennesseahawk

Veteran Expediter
That would be classic rumor and truck stop talk. I happened to know ACT's owner. He was the last chairman of the Truckload Carriers Association and a huge advocate for drivers. They are testing Drivecam (which doesn't face or have a sleeper cam). As well he is an attorney by trade and does anyone think you could mount a sleeper cam legally???? Silly. Hawk you know better than that.

Companies are always trying to skirt the law, until they get caught. Come on, John... you know better than that.

As far as your assertion that ACT doesn't have driver facing cameras, here ya go... post 722 and 733.

Return to ACT (American Central Transport) - Page 73

Tennesseahawk

Veteran Expediter
Driver yes. You said the sleeper. BIG difference.

My assertion of a sleeper cam, I admitted, could've been just a rumor, and looks like it was. However, they do have driver cams, and are no longer testing them, but have made them permanent, "to protect the driver, and our wallet." If they are the dual, I ask that you look at this pic, and tell me that you're absolutely positive that the camera facing the driver will, in no way, see into the sleeper.

DriveCam-in-cab-shot-420x279.jpg

jelliott

Veteran Expediter
Motor Carrier Executive
US Army
Out of curiosity have you ever actually looked at the product or done any research? Just wonder how much is based on facts vs hear say. ACT was testing 20 units. They decided to go ahead and roll it out to their fleet 4 weeks ago. I was with their CEO at a conference. I have also looked at the actual hardware and watched real life in cab demos. So I might know a little bit. But with that being day I personally decided not to implement the technology.

Last edited:

Tennesseahawk

Veteran Expediter