FedEx Custom Critical ???? Are they what they say they are??

Status
Not open for further replies.

zero3nine

Veteran Expediter
I am an independent contractor.

I have my own commercial liability and cargo insurance.

I provide my own tracking and communications.

I have my own local and interstate authorities.

I am a freight forwarder. I am a motor carrier. I am an indirect air carrier. I am a broker.

I send invoices to my clients, which they pay on net 15 terms. Brokers pay me by wire transfer.

The only time there is any logo besides my own on the van is when I put magnetic signs on to do local courier work.

100% inependent, beholden to no one.

fired at you from my Droideka

ATeam

Retired Expediter
There is an interesting article in the Dollars and Sense section from jan 25 2005, Independent contractor classification.
The next article is interesting too. Seems a lawyer in a case showed that when a carrier dispatched a contractor that had the carriers signs on his truck and was wearing a hat with the carriers logo on it he should be classifed as a employee. The court agreed.

I'm not going to get into a contest that points to magazine articles and court cases that talk about other companies and other drivers in other situations in other states. For every one you found that supports your view, I could fine one that supports mine. As dabluzman1 said, this is an ongoing battle.

What I can tell with 100% certainty is that Diane and I are independent contractors under every standard that actually matters. If the laws or regulations changed such that our independent contractor status disappeared or came into question, we would adapt then. Until then, we are independent contractors and will continue to operate as such.