Working for Fleet

unorthodoxneon

Expert Expediter
Well with a couple topics talking about fleet owners and days off and such i have a few questions to ask,just to see if i would be a "good candidate" to work for a fleet owner. So what i'm kinda asking is, if you were a fleet owner would you sign me on, or laugh at me?

Ok, I plan on running solo for PantherII (for now, might have a friend team up with me for a bit, if not my g/f will team up with me after the first of the year). I have zero driving experience and am working on getting schooling to drive instead of my original plan to have a friend teach me, then get my license, as i'll learn alot more. As far as my time out, i would like to be out 3 weeks and then be home for 3-4 days ( i've seen a few people looking for 3 weeks on 1 off which would be cool too). I live in the Metro Detroit area so i would try to find a load in detroit and then rest that way there is very little dead head. One problem i seem to face,is that i have little to no money to get into this and pay for gas right off. I will probably jump in with about $500 in hand. So i would like to find someone to pay for gas and such, which i know is very hard now a days as people do alot of things that cost the owner money (selling gas, too much deadhead, ect...) I will say this, that i would never think of doing such a thing (only time deadhead maybe high to get home in an emergency). What i would like out of the truck i drive is something in good condition. I've went to school for automotives (not diesel but i still keep my vehicles in good working condition) so i would keep the truck in good running shape, check anything for problems and even wash it alot (a clean truck is a happy truck :+ ) The sleeper I would like something that in confortable for a 6'2" person. With the typical stuff like fridge, micro ect, anything extra would be awsome but dont expect much for a solo driver since they dont make the owners much so why give them a fancy truck.