Thinking about husband/wife team straight truck

blajay3

Rookie Expediter
Hello all. My wife and I are thinking about going otr. We don't know a lot about the industry but have a friend that's done it for years in a straight truck and says he loves it. I currently hold a class B with hazmat and tanker. I have been driving straight trucks locally for about 16 years now. My wife is studying for her class B so that we can do team. I drive a tandem fuel truck now with a reputable construction business. The down side to that is the drop in hours in the winter. We have a son that will be leaving for Air Force basic training in August 2014. Other then that we have basically no tie downs. I am 37 years old and my wife 33. We are not looking to get rich but are more looking forward to the adventure of seeing new things. We are just really looking for any advice from seasoned drivers as to where to start and what to expect. Been going blind reading other forums and not finding answers to our particular situation. We would greatly appreciate any advice anyone can offer. Thanks

ATeam

Retired Expediter
Hello all. My wife and I are thinking about going otr. We don't know a lot about the industry but have a friend that's done it for years in a straight truck and says he loves it. ... Been going blind reading other forums and not finding answers to our particular situation. We would greatly appreciate any advice anyone can offer. Thanks

You say you are seeking answers by reading forums but not finding them. What questions do you have exactly?

You may also find this piece helpful: Introduction to Expediting

TeamCaffee

Administrator
Staff member
Owner/Operator
What are you specific questions? Your situation reminds me of most people who have entered trucking after their kids have left home.

xiggi

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator