Questions about Expediting

coleman6566

Seasoned Expediter
Researching
US Navy
Hello everyone,

I'm thinking about getting started as an expediter and need some help.

I have no experience so I will need to team with someone.

I have plenty of local experience (over 10 years) and have driven all over the southeast but only on a daily basis (home every night).

I have a class B CDL but no X

Interested in straight truck or cargo van.

I live in Alabama

Has the industry turned around any since the fall of the economy?

Are there loads available?

What is the going pay scale?

Which companies are hiring in the southeast?

How long should I expect to be out?

Can I make at least $700/week take home after expenses?

Should I even consider this type of work?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thank you,

Rodney

otrdriver

Seasoned Expediter
expediting is saturated with vans. you can find yourself sitting for 2-3 days, even this time of the year. you will be offered loads and the dead head miles (which you pay for all fuel and no money paid to you for your drive time or miles) could be 100 miles and the load offer 200.
a van you have to idle for heat so you will have to burn fuel for heat. or just FREEZE. this is my recent experience.

Doggie Daddy

Veteran Expediter
a van you have to idle for heat so you will have to burn fuel for heat. or just FREEZE. this is my recent experience.

Most of the van o/o's with experience are not idling their vans for heat,as they have alternative solutions to this problem and are saving money and their equipment.

guido4475

Not a Member
expediting is saturated with vans. you can find yourself sitting for 2-3 days, even this time of the year. you will be offered loads and the dead head miles (which you pay for all fuel and no money paid to you for your drive time or miles) could be 100 miles and the load offer 200.