opinions wanted on team pay/percentage

truckrnnr

Seasoned Expediter
I have been a solo operator my entire expediting career (12 years) I am looking to take on a team driver to run with me in my truck.
I understand the 60/40 split and the FSC standards in our industry. My question is this: Since I own my truck and the team will not be driving for a fleet owner,what is a fair percentage for me to pay my team driver. The reason I ask is that I want to be fair,but also don't want to shoot myself in the foot either. ( I had one potential team driver who wanted to know my expenses,such as truck payment,insurance etc,.......He thought he should get 50% of gross after truck expenses) I need advice please.

jaminjim

Veteran Expediter
20% not counting the FSC.

Truck said:( I had one potential team driver who wanted to know my expenses,such as truck payment,insurance etc,.......He thought he should get 50% of gross after truck expenses)

Your hiring a driver, not a partner.

Last edited:

nightcreacher

Veteran Expediter
What I pay my co driver is 23% of surface expedite loads.24% w/g Loads and 50% of the acessaral charges.I can do this as i pay myself a lower drivers wage.Most people pay the drivers a 20% split,and as a driver he doesnt have to know your expenses ,after all hes just a driver.two things though,the more you pay your driver,the less you have to give the IRS,and what ever it takes to keep your drive available.

Scott101

Seasoned Expediter
20% not counting the FSC.

Truck said:( I had one potential team driver who wanted to know my expenses,such as truck payment,insurance etc,.......He thought he should get 50% of gross after truck expenses)

Your hiring a driver, not a partner.

Hmm. So the owners risk and investment is worth 0% as far as that guy was concerned huh? Sounds like employees I have had in the past. LoL

truckrnnr

Seasoned Expediter