Not sure if this is the right question here, but..

bsorbe

Seasoned Expediter
I am located in the midwest (southern MN). I am considering starting a small specialized transport company. I want to start with a dually and a gooseneck hauling RV's, Boats, Cars, Motorcycles, etc. I want to also consider offering some expedited freight services to small manufacturers within a 4-5 hr. radius of my home location. I have another business that pays my bills (most of the time), and I want to grow this slowly to 4-5 trucks in next 5 years.

Am I crazy for wanting to get into this area of freight?

How important is it for me to lease with a dispatch company, compared to seeking accounts on my own? I'm a good marketer and salesman by trade.

Would I be better off looking at a top kick or something rather than a dually?

Is what I am referring to, Hot Shot freight or close to it?

Thanks for any help out there.

cheri1122

Veteran Expediter
Driver
RE: Not sure if this is the right question here, b

The things you expect to haul, and the vehicle to haul them with, would be considered hotshot hauling, which is not the same as expediting. This site will tell you everything about expediting, and hotshothauling.com will tell you all about that. I don't believe you can combine the two with one vehicle, but good luck, whichever you choose. If you'd like more info on expediting, check out the Expediter's Expo - details on the general forum. :)

Crazynuff

Veteran Expediter