No experience but good everthng else

tedohio

Active Expediter
hi folks and thanks for being a part of this.
I am a future former insurance agent that would like to buy a van and do expediting. I have a few kids and a stay at home wife and i cant be lounging while looking for work.i picked this as i have been insuring lots of them and even thou is 50/50 in terms of feedback from my costumers i have to give it a try
I have no transportation experience but a clean driv record, good credit and i would like to think that i can communicate well w other pips.
Would a Co like Bolt hire me? I would have my own van.
Thanks for all the advices and do know i am not friends w xerses(sorry but i had to say that)

zorry

Veteran Expediter
Well, she's a guy.

First thing on the list of things you hope you never say as a newbie. LOL.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
Somebody ought to help the OP at some point.

I've never done the CV thing so I can't help much.

What kind of net income do you need/ expect ?
You do realize the I/C concept of no benefits, paid on a 1099, etc ?

highway star

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
My son's name is Jacob and he had a shirt made up with State Farm and Jake on it. It didn't arrive in time for the party he was going to wear it to...

To the OP, as you continue your research you'll probably find discussions about what van drivers make. I suspect that you'll find it to be tough to support kids and a stay at home wife on that kind of money.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
Ted, also read up on the lifestyle.
If you were a Deadhead in an earlier life, and you yearn for that again, it may work.

It's fun/exciting/profitable to some.
Those are all relative terms.

zorry

Veteran Expediter
Cleveland is probably a pretty good location to be an expeditor.

Another good thing is on the road, you probably won't see many Brown's games. :)

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter