NEW TRUCK vs USED TRUCK

lrjet

Seasoned Expediter
I really want to get into this business, but I have to say there is extremely negative attitude about it. I want a new truck, I am going to be living in it, I have to commit if I do this. For me there is no drive for someone else and see if I like it stuff. I have to be very positive and make it work. A new "D" unit is 1900.00 a month, a used "D" unit is 1400.00 a month. Some of the more negative people tell me I will go broke with a new truck. If I can't make 500.00 a month how in the world can any body be in this business? if 125.00 more a week will put me out of business then I won't bother with a used truck ether. If there are any positive, successful people out there, I would like you options. The extremely negative people that only know failure and fear, that information won't help and I am not interested. thanks.

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Hi, I am a not so new newbie and would be happy to pass on what little I know. I had the same thoughts when I started, I am sure glad that I did not buy a new truck. The money has been there to make payments on a new truck, no problem with that so far. I decided to drive for an owner. I rode with owners for the first 6 months. I have to say that doing it that way cut the learning curve time. It helped me to avoid at least some of the newbie dumb stuff.

I also learned what I might want in a truck when I do decide to buy one. What I would want now sleeper wise is much different that when I first started looking into this businss. I am still working on that one as well as trying to decide on reefer vs. non-reefer. That one is much harder. I have worked with both. The reefer produces more $ per mile but the cost for it is high. Uses more fuel too. It does seem that I ran more when I had the reefer but it could be because of the time of year.