New Looking to learn about Expediting

JustJen

Seasoned Expediter
Hello All!

I am new to Expediting... Meaning I have never driven expedite and am looking to get into the business.

I am 32, female, CDL A but have most of my commercial experience driving CDL B. ( I was a school bus driver for YEARS.) Never failed a drug test, have tons of defensive driving, can pass a criminal background check.

My questions are to those who may read this post...

1.) Why is it so hard to find expediting jobs solo? Without buying your own truck?

2.) Why can't companies team up solo drivers in the same area looking to do expedite?

3.) How is the percent rate usually figured? ( I was talking to a gentleman about expedite, he said the company he works for pays 45% he pays 15% to the drivers, the drivers pay fuel, QC and other expenses...etc.)

4.) How does insurance figure in with drivers if they work for a O/O and not the company directly?

5.) If you do decide to purchase your own vehicle, is it through the company? Or outside sales?

6.) ANY recruiters who may read this, laugh at me and decide, " Hey, this chick seems professional enough, I might have a job for her..", I scream " YESSS!! CALL ME, or email me at your preference.."

Please let me know... I AM VERY interested in driving expedite. My work career looks like this... drive, drive, drop off, pickup, drive and drive some more, until I moved to Tennessee and have only the oppurtunity to work in a factory sweating my female kahoni's off.... I am a driver, but don't like the big rigs... (I am way out of my comfort range with them.)

Thank you all!

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter