new guy on the block.

dannharris

New Recruit
Researching
So I'm new to this. Wanting to get into either cargo van (ford e250-350) or van with a box. How do i get hooked up with a broker or someone to get loads. I've signed up on u-ship but dont know if thats really a good way to go. I'll own whatever i van style i go with outright so i wont have that overhead. Just looking for some advice or a leg up. Thanks.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Just looking for some advice or a leg up.
You're not going to like it, but here goes. It appears you've zeroed in on the whole van thing. Probably because, "hey, it's cheaper, you don't need a CDL, and it's easy money," or some variations thereof. The reality is, even those who know the industry very well and are already "hooked up" with a broker (or carrier) to get loads aren't getting much in the way of loads for cargo vans these days, as a gazillion other people thought to themselves, "hey, it's cheaper, you don't need a CDL, and it's easy money," or some variations thereof. Freight is way down, and the number of vans is way up. That means there are about 10 vans for every load out there. That's an exaggeration, but not by much. But it means lots of sitting or running loads for very, very cheap.

If you want to make any money in expediting, a van is not the way to do it. You want to be in a straight truck, and as a team if possible. Owning your own is definitely the way to go, but right now, and for the foreseeable future, vanning ain't it.

dannharris

New Recruit
Researching
Thanks for the reply. I dont want to do it full time. Just part time for a little extra cash during the off season of farming.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter