Landstar/FDXCC

Rocketman

Veteran Expediter
Hello all.

I am currently looking into who I might want to sign a D unit onto. I am new to expediting, but not new to trucking. I have recently purchased an '01 Columbia with 24'dry box.

I am currently researching Landstar as they seem to have the best fit for me. I would greatly appreciate any advice from anyone who has been or is currently leased to Landstar.

I live about 125 miles from Memphis, TN and understand this is a good location for them and FDXCC. Also, I will be a solo driver.

Any comments?

Thanks, Rocketman

JohnO

Veteran Expediter
Hi Rocketman,
I've been O/O solo driver with Landstar Express since last week in January and have had no complaints with any part of the business. Most of my runs are east coast and I have been busy. Can't speak personally for the Memphis area.
Good Luck
John

Rocketman

Veteran Expediter
Thanks JohnO

I'm a little leary of dealing with the agents, but I do like Landstar's business profile of letting you operate at your own will to some extent. I feel that I have enough self discipline to make it work, I just don't want to have to beg for work...although I understand it may be needed at times! LOL. I just wouldn't want it to be ALL the time.

Thanks

lanier1

Seasoned Expediter
I have been running solo with FECC for just over a year now. The first six months were a struggle and much of that was my doing. I am pleased to be with FECC and like the dispatch system (no begging or at least not much). Nothing is ever perfect but for the most part I stay content and the freight is moving for me as well. Atlanta is my home express center.

Rocketman

Veteran Expediter
I'm in northeast AR actually.

Lanier, what size unit do you run? Do you mind if I pm you some questions?

Thanks

JohnO

Veteran Expediter