DH miles

mrgoodtude

Not a Member
Are you running flat rate per mile or a % of load pay?
When we ran flat rate we tried to stay at 20% but we will deadhead 95% if the load pays good enough.

bubbajeffh

Seasoned Expediter
I have been keeping track of mine and I am at about 40% since December of 2006. Be thankful if yours is that low. Mine will lower and when I have to go too far I will get reimbursed for it. As others will tell you, you have to see what you will make per mile, whether you are paid per load or per mile.

x06col

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Army
Bubba Who in the world are you running with? 40%??? We are at somewhere 5-8%. Ya better check the Post Office out.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
Wow. 5%-8% deadhead in expediting? Is that even possible? Is that All Miles less Loaded Miles = DH Miles, or are your deadhead figures something else?

General trucking can vary wildly, but is usually less, but in expediting, 30% is a not a bad figure, about normal.

Of course, the higher your acceptance rate, the higher your deadhead is likely to be.

redytrk

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
In discussions like this you need to keep in mind there are two kinds of DH. Company directed DH,and everything else. IE: Going Home,relocating,repairs etc.

This would account for one driver reporting 7% and another 40%.

maybe_driving

Seasoned Expediter
turtle it is good to know I'm not getting killed on the DH miles.
redytrk that was all DH if they say do you I say I do worked with my wife should work here, but I will drive 50 miles to take a shower.
Thanks guys

WWW.Packing.org
ooida#811397

x06col

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Army