APU unit question

smitty8567

Active Expediter
I have a comfort master APU unit. I turn it on and it will run for about an hour of running then it will shut down and show "temperature reading high". Do you have any suggestions and how to solve this problem.

layoutshooter

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
Welcome to the forums.

Other than checking the oil/coolant I don't know what to say. Is it stand alone or tied into the truck cooling system.

petercar

Active Expediter
I have a comfort master APU unit. I turn it on and it will run for about an hour of running then it will shut down and show "temperature reading high". Do you have any suggestions and how to solve this problem.

what temp is high, water temp ? or A/C system ?

do you have the op's book for the APU it should have a list of the codes.

the coils for the cond. or rad. may be dirty, if the fan wasn't working it wouldn't run for a hour.

Last edited:

purgoose10

Veteran Expediter
If the unit is fairly new it could be a sensor and or where the condensor is mounted. The condensor fan might not be able to pull enough air through the condensor to cool it. It's not getting the air and it has cycled (shut off) for any amount of time it could cause the sensor to go bad. A lot of times they will mount a condensor and fan against the cab. Thats fine if you have spacers between the mounts and the cab allowing air to flow. If the unit is less than about two inchs from the cab, it's not getting enough air. I had the same problem with a unit years ago and that was it, so passing on experience.
I might ad something. In the summer when running west or anywhere that the temps get really high the cab is not only getting hot from the sun it is picking up ashphalt heat. When the cab get that hot the fan on the condensor is just pulling that heat and helping to heat the condensor.

Last edited:

petercar

Active Expediter