Any Advice would be appreciated

Dghnc4

Seasoned Expediter
Hi All,

I have been driving Class A for 25 years+, in state only, home every night.... Kids are now raised, and my wife and I want to get into expediting. I will have to drive solo, wife has bad vision in one eye and has to drive intrastate only. I would appreciate any advice that anyone can give to us. We have downsized our lifestyle and cut our personal costs as much as possible. We are researching health insurance costs (this one I'm sure will hurt) and are doing as much research as possible as to what company to start with. First one we have contacted is Fedex. I have been reading that loads are down and money not so good now. Pros and Cons will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!

miker

Seasoned Expediter
if you still have your current in state job,stick with it, this is just not the time to change, loads are way down and so are rates. coming out here with no health ins. and as a solo will be very very difficult, teams are becoming the preferred these days and usually going to get the bulk of loads even if it's fit for a solo. seriously seriously hold off for a while if you currently have a job,most people in expediting would trade you in a minute.

Dghnc4

Seasoned Expediter
I will take all advice to heart. We think that it will be at least 6 months before we are actually ready to go. I hope to see a change or a start of a change by then. We just don't want to wait too long to get started. We need to net at least $50k a year, is this possible now?

Dghnc4

Seasoned Expediter