Non expiditor requesting purchasing advise

Dog Nerd Daily

Rookie Expediter
Researching
Hello and thank you in advance for taking the time to read this. I don't work in the trucking industry but I am in the market for an expiditor truck, and I'd very much appreciate some input on the matter.

I am a professional pet dog trainer and currently own a converted freightliner sprinter van that I use both as a motorhome and my work vehicle. It currently houses myself, my Golden Retriever (Jack Bowwower), my Belgian Malinois Shepherd, (Starbuck), my Blue and Gold Macaw (Marty McFlight), and temporarily also a Siberian husky who found me at the lake (Riker) who I am presently training up before rehoming. It will not come as a galloping shock to you that I need more room.

After considering my options, and based on the advise of one of my mentors who is a very well regarded parrot trainer who also lives and works out of his truck conversion, I have decided on purchasing an expiditor truck and converting the box into living quarters and training space. I would be using the cab to sleep, prepare food, etc, which would leave a ton of room in the box for animal transport, training, and storage of personal items. My buddy is an owner operator so I have had exposure to these vehicles.

My sprinter is worth about 15-16k, and I would like to spend no more than 26-30k on my truck with a 12k down payment and financing the rest.

My question is how do you determine the condition of an expeditor truck? My yearly mileage will be maybe 3000, and I just want something that isn't going to break down all the time. I see so many differently priced trucks around and I don't know how to interpret that.

If you were shopping for a truck for the above purposes, what would you be looking for?

I know some may not understand or agree with converting an expeditor truck for my purposes, I respect that and just ask that you move on along.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter