34 hour layover

dwd58

Active Expediter
I am a local class b driver who is thinking about getting into expediting. No team, solo only. Just wondering what the heck you guys do to try and make it back home for your 34 hour re-set, and if not, what you do when you find your self in the middle of now where and have to do a 34 re-set ?

runrunner

Veteran Expediter
I am a local class b driver who is thinking about getting into expediting. No team, solo only. Just wondering what the heck you guys do to try and make it back home for your 34 hour re-set, and if not, what you do when you find your self in the middle of now where and have to do a 34 re-set ?

An expediter rarely makes it home period. Most stay out three to six weeks,some only go home when a load gets them within 200 miles of home. As far as what to do,pretty much the same as at home,watch TV,shop,read a book,go out and eat, go to a movie,the road is home almost as much as home. Some get home more often but not many. You pretty much have to follow the freight to stay in business.

rollincoal

Expert Expediter
Owner/Operator
A class A or B driver living within the "expediter's area of operations" ought to be able to get home at least weekly if not more. Of course driving for someone else getting home weekly is probably about as good as it gets. Just depends on if OP lives in an area near where a possible expedite company has a lot of inbound and/or outbound freight. Even that would be no guarantee though as most companies take a dim view on drivers going home. Would make sure to seek out companies that get drivers home at least weekly with freight and/or busy lanes around the home 20.

runrunner

Veteran Expediter