What to do?

macmov

Seasoned Expediter
Can me nieve, ignorant or whatnot. I have been cargo hauling hotshot speciality items around the country for about ten years now. I'm going to level with you guys, I have not exactly been doing it legal. I have become incresingly uncomfortable with my risk and really want to change, so I want out and start fresh with something new. I'm thinking of expediting but no very little about it. I would really appriciate someone to take me under there wing and at least give me some guidence as to what I will need to do to get myself set up.

macmov

Seasoned Expediter
Sorry for the slow reply, I've been very busy. I think I'd do alot better being as independant as possible seeing I have been operating my own business for the past ten years, I like control;) I'd also like to know what is the best way to calculate road costs? At present I have a duelly pick up and a 40' cargo trailer, I run around the country picking up and delivering antiques, single pieces mostly. I need to change this situation. I'm wearing out and this line of work is much to hard. It is also getting to difficult for me since I spend 6-8 weeks at a time on the road and never seem to stop or catch up. But I've never been able to accuratly calculate road costs since I am constently picking up and delivering along the way.

terryandrene

Veteran Expediter
Safety & Compliance
US Coast Guard
Your comments would leave one to believe that you are running a cash business, you don't have the necessary government authority or oversight, you keep little or no records of your daily revenue or expenses, and you throw a few scraps to the IRS on April 15.