potential newbie here

aardvark307

Seasoned Expediter
Here's my background...

50 y/o retired USN, divorced, kid on her own, native to MI, but here in TX to attend a school. I wanted to try my hand at auto body before I got too old, but the more I get into it, the more I realize that it's not for me.

I have a Class A, went thru the Prime school to get my CDL. Couldn't master the art of backing up the trailer and I couldn't sleep in a moving vehicle. Spent about six months doing that.

Was a FedEx courier for two years, then became a transport guy. I moved Class A RVs, fire trucks, school busses, cement mixers, garbage packers, bobtails, plus anythng else that could be scrounged up, including those straight box trucks made in Wakarusa, IN. Did that for four years.

After reading these forums, it seems like the odds of me getting something as a solo as slim. Being alone on the road doesn't bother me. I also have a passive income via my military retirement check, so while cash is always important, I have a degree of flexibility that most folks don't have at my age.

Given my experience, what do you think of my employability as a solo? And where should I look? Go back to MI or am I likely to find something here in Houston?

Thanx in advance.

RichM

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Do you want to invest in your own vehicle and be an owner operator or do you want to run for someone else who is the owner of the truck.
This is important as most fleet owners want teams in their trucks to maximize revenue. Operating solo you are restricted by the HOS rules.
But since you have a passive income that may not be a factor for you.

Running solo Michigan and the Midwest is probably better for you then Houston.Many loads come out of the Houston chemical complex but go to Chicago or other areas that require teams,whereas in Michigan and the Midwest there are runs that are only 3-500 miles in duration.