Newbie...Just Retired From Private Jet Piloting...Now Have Class A CDL...Now What?

captiva240

Active Expediter
Hi!

Brand new on this forum and need help figuring out what to do when I 'grow up'. :)

The company I was flying for downsized and got rid of it's full time jet pilot. I decided to go to CDL school because it was something I was interested in and it was paid for by a Federal Program for the recently unemployed. Pilot market is horrible right now, besides I've been doing that for almost thirty-five years. Just yesterday I completed my Class A CDL road test with HAZMAT, Double/Triples, tanker. Today I completed my Class B road test. Now to find out what to do with it.

I've nothing that is keeping me from doing anything. Divorced and planning on staying that way. I'm not real keen on spending months together with a trainer. My Bus 'test giver' suggested I check into expediting. I have a job offer to drive a sight seeing coach in Alaska, but I'm a little concerned the same thing day after day will get old quick, even in Alaska.

I have no felonies, no DUI's and only 1 moving violation in the last ten years or so. While I could just retire and be done, I'm to young of a sixty year to do that. I also have my 100 Ton Captain's license and a Real Estate License.

How can I find someone to 'mentor' me on a trip they are taking to see if it's something I might like or not. I do love to travel and do love 'road trips', so it seems to me that I might just fit in the expediter field.

Any advice on where to go from here will be much appreciated.

Thanks!

Don Coleman
[email protected]

MissKat

Expert Expediter
Call load 1 and ask for Bryans Bishops phone number. He is a,jet pilot with straight trucks. Good luck!

Sent from my ADR6400L using EO Forums

captiva240

Active Expediter
Re: Newbie...Just Retired From Private Jet Piloting...Now Have Class A CDL...Now What

Thanks! I'll give him a call. Don

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter