Looking For Advice

libra112

Active Expediter
Owner/Operator
I am new to expediting & have just been offered a driving position. I was told that the pay is 60/40 with me getting the 60 but I have to pay for gas. Is that a good thing? I leave this Friday, so before I get started is there any particular questions I need to ask or know?

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner
I am new to expediting & have just been offered a driving position. I was told that the pay is 60/40 with me getting the 60 but I have to pay for gas. Is that a good thing? I leave this Friday, so before I get started is there any particular questions I need to ask or know?

It would be standard assuming you are getting 100 percent of the fuel surcharge. Think I would ask to make sure.

libra112

Active Expediter
Owner/Operator
Thanks davekc, I'm aware there's a lot to learn in this business and mistakes are gonna be made. I just didn't want this one to be the first. So when you say 100 % of fuel surcharge what exactly does that mean?

Last edited:

libra112

Active Expediter
Owner/Operator
Oh I don't know if it matters but I think should point out that I will be driving either a cargo or sprinter van.

paullud

Veteran Expediter
Thanks davekc, I'm aware there's a lot to learn in this business and mistakes are gonna be made. I just didn't want this one to be the first. So when you say 100 % of fuel surcharge what exactly does that mean?

There is extra money per mile added on the rate that is there to help pay for fuel, since you are paying for it you should get 100% and not 60%.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using EO Forums mobile app

libra112

Active Expediter
Owner/Operator