I need advice

mouse549

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Hey drivers,

I finally made it out there, driving for someone. I'm doing, ok, for someone that does not own the truck.
But, as a newbie, I haven't gottn the hang of the loads, and areas. I was sent to Missori, and Kansas and had to empty move back, one time over 700 miles.
How do you, or how do you learn to pick loads, do you reject the shorter ones all day to wait for the longer ones? Do you take every load they offer you? I did that one week and got 4 loads, none of them over 120miles, I was zig zaggin on a bunch of short runs which left me in the middle of nowhere, unable to even send my trippak.
So, someone, everyone give me some tips, I would like to get my own truck with knowledge of making it work, eventually.
thanx
Drive safe
Mouse

paperback1

Expert Expediter
HEY MOUSE, I HAVEN'T HEARD FROM YA IN A WHILE. I NEVER GOT TO MEET WITH YA AT THE TRUCK SHOW. WHO YA DRIVING WITH, AND WHAT IS THE DRIVER PAYING YA? ANYWAY, TALK TO YOUR OWNER, AND OTHER DRIVERS WITH THE COMPANY, AND THEY MIGHT BE ABLE TO HELP YA OUT, LATER:D

teacel

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Hi Mouse,
I could tell you are as excited as a little girl at the circus. Glad to see you got your foot in the door. Do yourself a favor, and back up for a moment. Take a few to learn from some of the other drivers that work for the same company as you do, where the load lanes are. Once you learn things like that you will be able to cut way back on your deadhead miles.

I always here the question being ask: Why is this company always hiring new drivers? Well there are several reasons why, - BUT - I can tell you that one of them is because they know the new driver is green and don't know the lanes, SO therefore will take any load offered to them just like you did.