FL70 Clutch Prices

highway star

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I have no personal experience with this, but the numbers I have heard are around a grand to 1200.

RichM

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
A couple of years bago I paid about $1800 for transmission work and a new clutch. The transmission was locking up in 6th gear so since they had to pull it I went ahead and had the clutch replaced. The clutch was only about $350 but it's the labor to pull the transmission out that will get you. If you have the transmission out you might as well replace the front and rear seals on the transmission.

FAST JIMMY

Expert Expediter
I just replaced a clutch on an Eaton 6 speed. The cost of the clutch kit was near $800. I would only use a new kit not remanufactured. Our labor is about $350. Also the fluid in most trans is synthetic and costs about $100 for a pail.
Fast Jimmy

rode2rouen

Expert Expediter
Contact a couple of Freightliner dealers and get quotes for the job. There are flat-rate times for this type of work. Example: a 4700 series International with a DT466 and a 6 speed paid around 4.5hrs. labor to R&R the clutch.

You might want to contact a couple of indie shops for quotes as well.

When you have gotten the quotes and decided which shop is going to get the job, be sure to ask for the estimated completion time when you make the appointment to have the work done. They should have the parts in stock (or near at hand) and have it in and out the same day.

Extra work required...refacing the flywheel...replacing a u-joint or carrier bearing, etc. will add to the time required to do the job. Be sure to insist that you be notified before they do any work over and above the quote. Also, be sure that the shop has a way to contact you if additional work is needed!!!!!

Based on my experience, I disagree with RichM about the trans seals. If there are no leaks, don't mess with them!

Rex

davekc

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Fleet Owner