Canada Expedite companies in Canada - information

kree8ive

Expert Expediter
I've been driving a tractor trailer for a few years now and I've become intrigued by the expedite side of the business. I've been doing some research and I'd be interested in hearing comments from current expedite drivers in Canada about the companies they have worked for (past or present). I've tried searching through the archives and I have found several Canadian companies mentioned, but not many first-hand comments about what it's like to work for them. I'd be interested in hearing the good, the bad, and the ugly about whatever company you work for. How's the pay? Do they keep you busy? Do you spend forever waiting for return loads? If you had a chance to do it all over, would you still pick the same company you work for now? Did things turn out the way the recruiter promised or do you feel that you were mislead? I know recruiters take a lot of flack for telling you whatever lies will get you to sign on, but in my experience (with Schneider National and Challenger Motor Freight), 90% of what the recruiters told me was true. Subjective comments would be welcome too, like ABC company is good for straight trucks but not for cargo vans, or XYZ company is great if you live in Windsor but not if you live in Toronto.

I'll share what I've learned so far because it may help others who are starting to check out the expedite business themselves. Take it with a grain of salt because I haven't actually worked for these companies, I'm just going by what I was told by the recruiter or another driver. Also, pay packages change over time so keep that in mind if you're reading these posts years after they were written.