Dedicated Parcel Route

marmon01

Expert Expediter
I'm an experienced tractor trailer driver nearing retirement and thinking about doing something similar to operating a "B" unit, except the van would be dedicated to one customer on a fixed route.

The route would involve transporting legal papers, data on computer disks, etc between bank branches and a central location, five nights a week (no cash is involved). The route covers 320 miles and presently takes from 7 to 7 1/2 hours to complete.

I would operate under an annual contract that would translate to about 62 cents per mile (cpm) gross. I've projected some cost figures assuming purchase of a new 3/4 ton van and my operating cost appears to be around 28 cpm. I live about 6 miles from where the route would start/end, thus there are virtually no "dead head" miles.

Primairily, I'm wondering if the 28 and 62 cpm figures look reasonable for a van? Thanks.

geo

Veteran Expediter
Charter Member
Retired Expediter
US Navy
i think that is a little low, i would assk for more like .90 a mile
and maybe compomrise for a little less like .72 or .80 per mile
or little more have to talk and compomrise on a fair amount
because it cut thoart out there

Lawrence

Founder
Staff member
Hi Marmon,

Let me guess...you like Marmon trucks ;-)

I think .62 CPM is on the low side, but if you are home every night and it's ALL miles - it may a good deal.

Most vans average anywhere from .50 to .70 CPM for all miles.

Best of luck!

Lawrence
Expediters Online.Com

marmon01

Expert Expediter
Thanks for the responses. The 62 cpm is what the bank claims as the cost of doing the route themselves. They really want to get someone to contract it if the cost is not siginiciantly higher. I'm tempted to propose something just under 70 cpm and accept 65 or better. This route is desirable in that only a few hundred pounds (total) of bags are involved.

Lawrence

Founder
Staff member
Marmon,