Charger for battery bank

MikeDamone

Not a Member
Researching
What kind of battery charger are you guys using for your battery bank? I have two vmax 12v 155ah agm batteries to charge from the alternator. Im just learning as I go with this so pardon my ignorance. So ive learned I need a dc to dc 12v to 12v charger. The batteries are rated at no more than a 35amp charge, ideally a 15amp charge. So when choosing an amp rating, do I go with the requirement of one battery, or the total system? Which, ideally, would be a 30amp charger. Ive found a few, but they all seem to have an equilazation charge, which from what ive read can be bad for agm batteries. I guess these dc dc chargers just aren't as common as ac dc chargers. Thanks.

Moot

Veteran Expediter
Owner/Operator
I'm using a Promariner DMC 12V to 24V Batt to Batt | ProMariner to charge two Full River 6 volt/224 AH batteries. The Promariner provides the correct charging profile for AGM batteries so it doesn't matter what type of starting battery your van has because the charger is only charging your house batteries.

Turtle

Administrator
Staff member
Retired Expediter
So when choosing an amp rating, do I go with the requirement of one battery, or the total system?
When you connect more than one battery together, it becomes one big battery. You have a 310 amp hour battery. So, the total system.
The batteries are rated at no more than a 35amp charge, ideally a 15amp charge.