Cargo Van or Sprinter?

ZIGGY

Seasoned Expediter
Iam looking into expediting as a second career. I spoke with several recruters now all i need to do is choose between a cargo van and a sprinter. I know that sprinter size loads pay more but do you really get that many loads that pay that amount? Or would I be better off at the lower pay per mile with a cargo van that cost less and runs on gas? And if it is a cargo van, would you recommend 3/4 ton or 1 ton, extended or regular? Of course, a 1 ton ext. cargo van probly costs just as much as a sprinter anyway. If you were starting out all over again, wich would you prefer? I would apprechiate any input.
thanx,
ZIGGY

LDB

Veteran Expediter
Retired Expediter
I'm a D unit driver however if I were looking at a van the Sprinter would be my second choice and the extended cargo van would be my third choice. I'd look at an Aerocell on www.unicell.com as my first choice. Good luck whichever way you go.

Leo Bricker, owner trucks 3034, 4958
OOIDA 677319
73's K5LDB
Highway Watch Participant, Truckerbuddy
EO Forum Moderator
----------
Support the entire Constitution, not just the parts you like.

bryan

Veteran Expediter
HI
Sprinter. That way you can have a really big bunk.As slow as it is right now that will come in real handy.Espar heater or some type of auxillary heater to save on fuel and engine maintanance.Sprinters don't like to idle.

I'd advise you to check into the business a little bit more.Things are pretty slow right now for vans.So you are going to need a good bit of cash on hand just to survive until things pick up.Even when it isn't slow you need at least $2000.00 to carry you through untill you get a steady flow of revenue.

hondaking38

Veteran Expediter